+90-548-885-8000
+90-548-875-8000
الجمعة 23 فبراير 2024

الوقاية من مرض فقر الدم المنجلي

لمحة عامة عن الوقاية من فقر الدم المنجلي

فقر الدم المنجلي ، أو يُشار إليه أحيانًا باسم "مرض الخلايا المنجلية" هو نوع موروث من فقر الدم حيث تكون خلايا الدم الحمراء (المسؤولة عن نقل الأكسجين من الرئتين إلى باقي الجسم) على شكل منجل.

تحتوي الخلايا المنجلية على هيموجلوبين غير طبيعي يسمى الهيموجلوبين المنجلي أو الهيموجلوبين المنجلي. يتسبب الهيموجلوبين المنجلي في تكوين الخلايا بشكل منجل.

يمكن لخلايا الدم الحمراء ذات الشكل المنجلي أن تسد أجزاء من الأوعية الدموية مما يعني أنه لا يمكن نقل الأكسجين بشكل صحيح إلى باقي الأعضاء ، مما يتسبب في نوبات من الألم الشديد. تتمتع خلايا الدم الحمراء غير الطبيعية الشكل المنجلية بعمر أقصر مقارنة بخلايا الدم الحمراء المستديرة الشكل العادية وتموت عادة في حوالي 10-20 يومًا ، وللأسف لا يمكن استبدالها بسرعة بأخرى جديدة. هذا يسبب نقصًا في خلايا الدم الحمراء حتى يتم إنتاج خلايا جديدة ، مما يسبب فقر الدم.

عادة ما تبدأ أعراض المرض في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة وأعراض فقر الدم المنجلي هي ، انخفاض عدد خلايا الدم الحمراء ، ضيق التنفس ، النمو والتأخر عند الأطفال ، ارتفاع ضغط الدم. يشمل علاج فقر الدم المنجلي تدابير للحد من شدة وتواتر نوبات أزمات الخلايا المنجلية.

يحدث اضطراب الخلايا المنجلية بسبب طفرة جين HBB. يحدث فقر الدم المنجلي بسبب طفرة في سلسلة ß-globin من الهيموجلوبين ، بسبب استبدال الأحماض الأمينية من Glu إلى Val في موضع الأحماض الأمينية السادسة في بروتين الهيموجلوبين في سلسلة بيتا. يؤدي الاستبدال إلى حدوث طفرة (شذوذ) تجعل الهيموجلوبين يشوه خلايا الدم الحمراء إلى شكل منجل.

نمط الوراثة هو صفة جسدية متنحية ، مما يعني أنه من أجل الإصابة بفقر الدم المنجلي ، سيحتاج المريض إلى اكتساب الطفرة الحاملة للأليل الجيني من كلا الوالدين. إذا كان لدى كل من المرضى الذكور والإناث الخلايا المنجلية التي تحمل أليلًا جينيًا ، فهناك خطر كبير جدًا من تعريض نسلهم لهذا المرض.

إذا كان الشخص يكتسب أليلًا واحدًا فقط من والد واحد (في حين أن الوالد الآخر ليس ناقلًا وخاليًا من مرض فقر الدم المنجلي) ، يظل الشخص حاملًا للمرض. الناقل ليس في أي خطر. ومع ذلك ، إذا كان كلا الوالدين يحملان الجين الطافر للخلايا المنجلية ، فهناك فرصة 25% لنقلها إلى النسل. بمعنى آخر ، من غير المحتمل أن يؤدي امتلاك سمة الخلية المنجلية نفسها إلى إصابة الشخص بمرض فقر الدم المنجلي. ولكن إذا كان هناك شخصان يحملان السمة سينجبان طفلًا ، فهناك احتمال واحد من كل أربعة أن يولد الطفل مصابًا بفقر الدم المنجلي.

تختلف سمة الخلايا المنجلية عن فقر الدم المنجلي. تشير سمة الخلية المنجلية إلى أن الشخص حامل. سيتعرض الشخص الحامل لخطر نقل هذه الطفرة الجينية إلى طفله / طفلها إذا حمل طفلًا مع ناقل آخر. ومع ذلك ، لن يكون لدى الناقل أي من أعراض فقر الدم المنجلي. يعتبر فقر الدم المنجلي أكثر شيوعًا في سكان إفريقيا ومنطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط ، ولكن يمكن رؤيته أيضًا في الأشخاص من منطقة البحر الكاريبي والشرق الأوسط وأمريكا الوسطى ويقدر أنه يحدث في 1 من كل 500 أفريقي.

الخلايا الحمراء التي تحتوي على الغلوبين غير قادرة على توصيل الأكسجين بشكل فعال مثل خلايا الدم الحمراء الأخرى. بسبب النقل غير الفعال للأكسجين ، يحاول الجسم التعويض عن طريق إنتاج هيموجلوبين إضافي ، وبالتالي نخاع عظم إضافي. هذا يجعل العظام أكثر هشاشة. يؤدي عدم كفاءة نقل الأكسجين أيضًا إلى تضخم القلب في محاولة لتحسين نقل الأكسجين عن طريق زيادة معدل ضخ الدم. تتجمع الخلايا المنجلية غير الطبيعية في الطحال ، مما يؤدي إلى تضخمها وتصبح ليفية. والأهم من ذلك ، أن خلايا الدم المنجلية الشكل تسد الشعيرات الدموية وتحد من تدفق الدم ، مما يسبب أعراضًا إضافية. الأشخاص المصابون بمرض الخلايا المنجلية تظهر عليهم علامات المرض منذ ستة أشهر. يمكن أن تتراوح أعراض هذا المرض من خفيفة جدًا إلى شديدة جدًا ويصيب أشخاصًا مختلفين بشكل مختلف. تشمل الأعراض:

  • - انتفاخ مؤلم في اليدين والقدمين ويعرف باسم دكتايل
  • - التعب أو الانزعاج بسبب فقر الدم
  • - لون البشرة مصفر ويشار إليه اليرقان، أو بياض العين ، المشار إليها باسم icteris يحدث بسبب انحلال الدم لعدد كبير من خلايا الدم الحمراء.

الهيموجلوبين الرضيع أو الجنين لديه القدرة على منع خلايا الدم الحمراء من المنجل. هذا هو السبب الرئيسي لعدم ظهور الأعراض عند الولادة ، بل يبلغ حوالي 6 أشهر عندما يتم استبدال الهيموجلوبين بالرضيع أو الجنين. المنجل يبدأ الهيموغلوبين والخلايا في المنجل.

في هذه المرحلة ، يمكن للمرء أن يسأل نفسه ، هل يمكن علاج مرض فقر الدم المنجلي؟ أو على الأقل منعت؟ لحسن الحظ ، مع التقدم التكنولوجي والطب ، من الممكن أن تتجنب تمامًا نقل فقر الدم المنجلي إلى أطفالك! التشخيص الجيني قبل الزرع يسمح لنا بفحص الأجنة بحثًا عن غالبية الاضطرابات الوراثية بالإضافة إلى اضطرابات الجين الفردي مثل فقر الدم المنجلي. باستخدام هذه التقنية ، نحن قادرون على أخذ خزعة من كل جنين قبل الحمل ، كما أننا قادرون على تحديد أي جنين لديه طفرة جينية لمرض فقر الدم المنجلي. هذا يسمح لنا بالقضاء على الأجنة ذات الطفرة تمامًا ونقل الأجنة السليمة فقط إلى الرحم من أجل الحمل.

يتم تقديم تقنية التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع كجزء من برنامج علاج أطفال الأنابيب. لذلك ، إذا كنت معرضًا لخطر نقل الخلايا المنجلية إلى ذريتك ، فستكون هناك حاجة إلى علاج أطفال الأنابيب من أجل منع الجيل التالي من مرض فقر الدم المنجلي. سيسمح لنا استخدام تقنيات التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع (PGD) أيضًا بفحص العديد من الاضطرابات الوراثية الأخرى بالإضافة إلى جنس طفلك. أثناء منع طفلك من الإصابة بفقر الدم المنجلي ، من الممكن أيضًا اختيار جنس طفلك لأغراض الموازنة الأسرية.


كيف تبدأ؟

على الرغم من أن فقر الدم المنجلي ناتج عن طفرة معينة في جين معين ، إلا أننا سنظل بحاجة إلى الحصول على عينات دم من كلا الشريكين حتى نتمكن من تصميم مسبار PGD لفحص الأجنة. هذا يعني أن الزوجين اللذين يرغبان في الخضوع لعلاج PGD للوقاية من فقر الدم المنجلي سيحتاجان إلى إعطائنا عينات دم قبل أن نتمكن من متابعة العلاج. ويمكن أن يتم ذلك بطريقتين:

- يمكن للزوجين القدوم إلى قبرص لتزويدنا بعينات الدم والعودة إلى المنزل حتى يتم الانتهاء من تصميم المسبار ثم العودة للمرة الثانية في غضون شهرين تقريبًا للعلاج الفعلي. هذا يعني القدوم إلى قبرص مرتين.
- يمكن للزوجين إرسال عينات دمهم في أنابيب مناسبة حتى لا يضطروا إلى القدوم إلى قبرص مرتين. سيُطلب منهم القدوم إلى قبرص مرة واحدة فقط لتلقي العلاج. إذا كنت ترسل عينة دمك في أنابيب ، فيجب وضع العينات في أنابيب K3 Edta ذات الغطاء الأرجواني. هذه هي الأنابيب الوحيدة المناسبة لوضع عينة دمك لأغراض فحص الخلايا المنجلية. يرجى أن تضع في اعتبارك أن عينات الدم يجب أن تكون معنا في غضون 36 ساعة ، مما يلغي خيار DHL كخيار ، لذلك ستحتاج إما إلى تنظيم شركة بريد سريع أو أن يكون هناك شخص يسافر إلى قبرص لإحضار عينات الدم.

الأمر متروك للمرضى بشأن الطريقة التي يرغبون بها في تقديم عينة الدم الخاصة بهم. ومع ذلك ، يجد بعض المرضى أنه من الأفضل القدوم إلى قبرص لإعطاء عينات دمهم لأن ذلك يمكنهم من إجراء استشارة أولية معنا وربما إجراء اختباراتهم الأولية في عيادتنا. يسمح هذا أيضًا للمرضى بشراء أدويتهم بتكلفة أقل في قبرص.

تستغرق معالجة عينات الدم حوالي شهرين. بمجرد أن ننتهي من تصميم مسبار التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع ، سنتصل بك لإعدادك للعلاج. في غضون فترة الشهرين ، سنطلب منك إجراء اختبار الهرمونات وتحليل السائل المنوي حتى نتمكن من تحديد جرعة الدواء المناسبة لعلاجك. بمجرد حصولنا على هذه المعلومات ، سنتمكن من إعدادك للعلاج.

تشبه الأجزاء الأولية من العلاج إلى حد كبير العلاج القياسي لأطفال الأنابيب / الحقن المجهري حيث تستخدم المريضة دواءً لتحفيز المبايض من أجل إنتاج بويضات متعددة. يعد الحصول على بويضات متعددة أمرًا ضروريًا للنجاح في علاجات التلقيح الاصطناعي لأنه كلما زاد عدد البويضات وزادت جودة هذه البويضات ، زادت احتمالية الحصول على أجنة ذات نوعية جيدة لاحقًا للانتقال إلى الرحم. بمجرد أن يصبح الزوجان جاهزين ، يتم جمع البويضات من خلال إجراء جراحي بسيط في عيادتنا بحيث يمكن دمجها مع خلايا الحيوانات المنوية لتكوين الأجنة. يتم فحص هذه الأجنة ، بدورها ، بحثًا عن فقر الدم المنجلي بحيث يمكن اختيار الأجنة السليمة ونقلها إلى الرحم لتوليد الحمل.

اختبار أولي

كما ذكر أعلاه ، فإن العلاج الذي سيتم تقديمه للوقاية من مرض فقر الدم المنجلي هو علاج أطفال الأنابيب. على الأقل الأجزاء الأولية من العلاج تشبه إلى حد كبير علاج أطفال الأنابيب. الفرق الوحيد هو أنه سيتم فحص أجنةك بحثًا عن فقر الدم المنجلي قبل نقلها إلى الرحم. لذلك ، فإن خطوات علاج أطفال الأنابيب الموضحة في موقعنا علاج أطفال الأنابيب / الحقن المجهري الصفحة سوف تنطبق هنا أيضا. فيما يلي ملخص أساسي للأحداث التي سيتم اتباعها:

- الاختبار الأولي قبل علاج التلقيح الاصطناعي حتى نتمكن من إجراء تقييم لمستوى خصوبتك وتصميم بروتوكول العلاج الأمثل من أجل زيادة فرصك في النجاح مع العلاج. نظرًا لأننا نجري هذا العلاج لغرض الوقاية من الأمراض الوراثية ، فمن المهم أن نحصل على أكبر عدد ممكن من الأجنة بحيث بمجرد القضاء على الأجنة المريضة ، لا يزال لدينا عدد كبير من الأجنة السليمة لنقلها.

- أثناء إجراء الاختبار الأولي ، سنقوم بالعمل الميداني ونبدأ في تصميم المسبار الخاص بك مع عينات الدم التي تم توفيرها مسبقًا.

- بمجرد الانتهاء من تصميم المسبار ، ستتبع برنامج علاج التلقيح الاصطناعي الذي تم تصميمه لك وستأتي إلى قبرص بحيث يمكن الانتهاء من علاج أطفال الأنابيب وفحص الأجنة.

بالنسبة للمرضى الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 35 عامًا ، نظرًا لانخفاض احتياطي المبيض لديهم ، نوصي بأن يفكروا في إجراء دورتين من التلقيح الاصطناعي حتى نتمكن من الجمع بين مجموعتين من الأجنة التي تم الحصول عليها من كلتا الدورتين. سيتيح لنا فحص المزيد من الأجنة أن نقدم لك عددًا أكبر من الأجنة السليمة لنقلها ، وهو أمر يحافظ على فرصتك في النجاح مع هذا الإجراء. إذا قررت إجراء دورتين ، فيمكن تنظيم الدورة الأولى في الوقت الذي تأتي فيه لتزويدنا بعينات دمك ، بحيث لا يزال من الممكن إنهاء العلاج بالكامل في رحلتين إلى قبرص.

تكلفة الوقاية من مرض فقر الدم المنجلي مع التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع

يتم تقديم الوقاية من مرض فقر الدم المنجلي كجزء من علاج أطفال الأنابيب والذي يتضمن التشخيص الجيني قبل الزرع (PGD) على الأجنة التي سيتم إنشاؤها في المختبر بعد بروتوكول التلقيح الاصطناعي. تشمل تكلفة العلاج معالجة عينات الدم للعمل الميداني ، وتصميم مسبار PGD لفحص الأجنة بنجاح ، وجميع إجراءات التلقيح الاصطناعي الخاصة بك ونقل الأجنة النهائي. يمكننا أن نقدم لك هذه الخدمة مقابل 6500 يورو. ومع ذلك ، فإن أدويتك والاختبارات المحلية الأولية وتكاليف السفر والإقامة الفندقية ليست مشمولة في تكلفة العلاج هذه. لمزيد من المعلومات حول الإقامة والسفر ، يرجى الاطلاع على "إقامة" قسم.

arArabic

+90-548-882-8000
+90-548-876-8000

Sickle Cell Disease Prevention

Overview of Sickle Cell Anemia Prevention

Sickle cell anemia, or sometimes referred to as “Sickle cell disease” is an inherited type of anemia where red blood cells (which are responsible for carrying oxygen from the lungs to the rest of the body) are sickle shaped.

Sickle cells contain abnormal hemoglobin called sickle hemoglobin or hemoglobin S. Sickle hemoglobin causes the cells to develop a sickle shape.

These sickle shaped red blood cells can possibly clog sections of blood vessels which means oxygen cannot be carried properly to the rest of the organs, thus, causing episodes of severe pain. Abnormal sickle-shaped red blood cells have a shorter life-span compared to regular round shaped red blood cells and they usually die in about 10-20 days, and unfortunately they cannot be quickly replaced with new ones. This causes a shortage of red blood cells until the new ones are produced, causing anemia.

The symptoms of the disease usually begin in early childhood and symptoms of sickle cell anemia are, low count of red blood cells, shortness of breath, developmental growth and delay in children and high blood pressure. Treatment of sickle cell anemia involves measures to reduce the severity and frequency of episodes of sickle cell crises.

Sickle cell disorder is caused by the HBB gene mutation. Sickle-cell anemia is caused by a mutation in the ß-globin chain of hemoglobin, caused by an amino acid substitution of Glu to Val at the sixth amino acid position in the beta-chain hemoglobin protein. The substitution causes a mutation (abnormality) which causes the hemoglobin to distort the red blood cells into a sickle shape.

Pattern of inheritance is autosomal recessive, which means, in order to have sickle cell anemia, the patient will need to acquire the mutation carrying gene allele from both parents. If both male and female patients have the sickle cell carrying gene allele, then there is a very high risk of exposing their offspring to this disease.

If a person only acquires one allele from a single parent (whereas the other parent is not a carrier and is free of sickle cell disease), the person remains a carrier of the disease. A carrier is not at any risk. However, if both parents are carriers of the sickle cell mutant gene, then there is a 25% chance of passing it down to the offspring. In other words, having the sickle cell trait itself is not likely to cause a person to develop sickle cell disease. But if two people with the trait are going to conceive a child then there is a one in four chance that child will be born with sickle cell anemia.

Sickle cell trait is different from sickle cell anemia. Sickle cell trait indicates that a person is a carrier. Person who is a carrier will run the risk of passing this genetic mutation down to his/her child if he/she conceives a child with another carrier. However, a carrier will not have any of the symptoms of sickle cell anemia. Sickle cell anemia is most common in African and Mediterranean populations but it can also be seen in people from Caribbean, Middle East and Central America and it estimated to occur in 1 in 500 Africans.

The red cells that contain the globin are unable to deliver oxygen as effectively as other red blood cells. Due to inefficient transport of oxygen, the body tries to compensate by producing additional hemoglobin, therefore, additional bone marrow. This causes the bones to be more fragile. The inefficiency of oxygen transport also causes the heart to enlarge in an attempt to improve the transport of oxygen by increasing the blood pumping rate. The abnormal sickle cells are collected in the spleen, causing it to enlarge and become fibrotic. More importantly, sickle-shaped blood cells clog the capillaries and further restrict blood flow, which causes additional symptoms. People with sickle cell disease will have signs of the disease as early as six months old. The symptoms of this disease can range from very mild to very severe and it affects different people differently. Symptoms include:

  • – Painful swelling of the hands and feet, known as dactylitis
  • – Fatigue or fussiness due to anemia
  • – A yellowish skin color, referred to as jaundice, or whites of the eyes, referred to as icteris, occurring due to the hemolysis of a large number of red blood cells.

Baby or fetal hemoglobin has the ability of preventing red blood cells from sickling. This is the main reason why the onset of symptoms is not at birth, but rather around 6 months old when the baby or fetal hemoglobin is replaced by sickle hemoglobin and the cells begin to sickle.

At this point, one can ask themselves, can sickle cell disease be treated? Or at least prevented? Luckily, with advancements in technology and medicine, it is possible to completely avoid passing sickle cell anemia down to your children! Pre-Implantation Genetic Diagnosis allows us to screen embryos for majority of genetic disorders as well as single gene disorders such as the sickle cell anemia. With this technology, we are able to biopsy each and every embryo prior to pregnancy and we are able to determine which embryo has the gene mutation for sickle cell disease. This allows us to eliminate the embryos with mutation altogether and only transfer the healthy embryos into the uterus for pregnancy.

PGD technique is offered as part of an IVF treatment program. Therefore, if you are at risk of passing sickle cell down to your offspring, IVF treatment will be required in order to prevent the next generation from sickle cell disease. Using PGD technologies will also allow us to screen for many other genetic disorders as well as the gender of your child. While preventing your child from sickle cell anemia, it is also possible to choose the gender of your child for family balancing purposes.


How to Get Started?

Even though sickle cell anemia is caused by a specific mutation on a specific gene, we will still need to obtain your blood samples from both partners in order to be able to design the PGD probe for embryo screening. This means that a couple who would like to undergo PGD treatment for sickle cell anemia prevention will need to give us their blood samples before we can proceed with treatment. This can be done in two ways:

-Couple can come to Cyprus to provide us with their blood samples and return back home until the probe design has been finalized and then come back for the second time in about two months time for the actual treatment. This means coming to Cyprus twice.
-Couple can send their blood samples in appropriate tubes so that they don’t have to come to Cyprus twice. They will be required to come to Cyprus only once later for treatment. If you are sending your blood sample in tubes, the samples should be placed in K3 Edta tubes with the purple cap. These are the only tubes that are appropriate to place your blood sample for sickle cell screening purposes. Please keep in mind that the blood samples must be with us within 36 hours, which eliminates DHL as an option, so you would  either need to organize a courier company or have someone fly out to Cyprus to bring the blood samples.

It is up to the patients how they would like to provide their blood sample. However, some patients find it more advantageous to come to Cyprus to give their blood samples as that enables them to have an initial consultation with us and possibly have their initial testing at our clinic. This also allows patients to purchase their medication at lower costs in Cyprus.

Processing the blood samples take about two months. Once we have finished designing the PGD probe, then we will contact you to prepare you for your treatment. Within the two month period, we will ask that you have your hormone testing and semen analysis so that we can identify the right medication dosage for your treatment. Once we have this information, we will be able to prepare you for your treatment.

The initial parts of the treatment are very similar to standard IVF/ICSI treatment where the female patient uses medication to stimulate her ovaries in order to produce multiple eggs. Having multiples eggs is essential for success in IVF treatments because the higher the egg count and the higher the quality of these eggs, the more likely it is to have good quality embryos later on for transferring into the uterus. Once the couple is ready, the eggs are collected via a minor surgical procedure at our clinic so that they can be fused with the sperm cells to create embryos. These embryos, in turn, are screened for sickle cell anemia so that the healthy ones can be chosen and transferred into the uterus o generate pregnancy.

Preliminary Testing

As mentioned above, treatment which will be offered for sickle cell disease prevention is an IVF treatment. At least the initial parts of the treatment are very much like an IVF treatment. The only difference is, your embryos will be screened for sickle cell anemia before they are transferred into the uterus. Therefore, the steps of IVF treatment outlined in our IVF/ICSI treatment page will also apply here. The following is a basic summary of events which will be followed:

-Initial testing before IVF treatment so that we can make an assessment of your fertility level and design the most optimal treatment protocol in order to maximize your chances of success with treatment. Given that we are carrying this treatment for a genetic disease prevention purpose, it is important that we get as many embryos as possible so that once the diseased embryos are eliminated, we are still left with a good number of healthy embryos to transfer.

-While you are having the initial testing, we will be doing the field work and getting started on your probe design with the blood samples that have been provided previously.

-Once the probe design has been finalizesd, you will follow our IVF treatment program that has been designed for you and come to Cyprus so that both your IVF treatment and embryo screening can be finalized.

For patients over the age of 35, due to their lowered ovarian reserves, we recommend that they consider having two IVF cycles so that we can combine two sets of embryos obtained from both cycles. Having more embryos to screen will allow us to offer you a higher number of healthy embryos to transfer, which is something that keeps your chance of success high with this procedure. If you decide to have two cycles, then the first cycle can be organized around the time when you come to provide us with your blood samples, so that the whole treatment can still be finalized in two trips to Cyprus.

Cost of Sickle Cell Disease Prevention with PGD

Sickle cell disease prevention is offered as part of an IVF treatment which involves Pre-Implantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD) on the embryos which will be created in-vitro after the IVF protocol. The cost of treatment includes processing of blood samples for field work, designing a PGD probe to successfully screen your embryos, all your IVF procedures and a final embryo transfer. We are able to offer you this service at 6,500 Euros. However, your medication, initial local testing, airfare and hotel accommodation are not included in this treatment cost. For more information about accommodation and travel, please see our “Accommodation” section.