+90-548-882-8000
+90-548-875-8000
الثلاثاء 23 أبريل 2024

العقم

التشخيص والإدارة

يُعرَّف العقم بأنه عدم القدرة على الحمل أو الاستمرار في الحمل حتى نهايته. حوالي 1 من كل 10 نساء في الغرب يجدن صعوبة في الحمل أو الحمل حتى نهايته. وفقًا لمسح حديث ، ما يقرب من 11% من النساء في سن الإنجاب في الولايات المتحدة غير قادرات على الحمل.

على الرغم من أن العقم غالبًا ما يُعتبر مشكلة أنثوية ، إلا أن العقم عند الرجال شائع جدًا أيضًا. العقم عند الرجال هو إما السبب الوحيد أو العامل المساهم في حوالي 40% من الأزواج المصابين بالعقم. وبالتالي ، يحتاج كل من الشريك الذكر والأنثى إلى تقييم شامل قبل إجراء التشخيص.

يعرّف معظم الأطباء العقم على أنه عدم القدرة على الحمل بعد عام واحد من الجماع المنتظم دون استخدام وسائل منع الحمل. قد يكون هذا الإطار الزمني مناسبًا للزوجين في العشرينات من العمر. ومع ذلك ، قد لا يتمتع الزوجان في منتصف وأواخر الثلاثينيات برفاهية الانتظار لمدة عام. على سبيل المثال ، قد تحاول المرأة لسنوات الحمل بشكل طبيعي ، فقط لتكتشف أن احتياطي المبيض لديها قد استنفد بحلول الوقت الذي تطلب فيه المساعدة. وبالتالي ، قد لا تتمكن المرأة التي تؤخر علاج الخصوبة من استخدام بويضاتها. على الرغم من أنه يمكن إجراء علاجات التلقيح الاصطناعي باستخدام بويضات متبرعة أو أجنة مانحة ، فإن استشارة أخصائي الخصوبة في الوقت المناسب يمكن أن تساعد في تجنب العبء المالي الإضافي وأوقات الانتظار لمطابقة المتبرعين.

يعتبر الأزواج الذين لم يتمكنوا من الإنجاب من قبل العقم الأولي. بالمقابل العقم الثانوي يصف الأزواج الذين سبق لهم الحمل دون أي مساعدة ولكنهم لم يعودوا قادرين على الإنجاب بشكل طبيعي. هناك عدد من أسباب العقم الثانوي ، بما في ذلك سن الوالدين ، وانقطاع الطمث المبكر ، وتاريخ العلاج الإشعاعي و / أو الكيميائي ، والمضاعفات الجراحية ، والنظام الغذائي السيئ. لحسن الحظ ، يمكن لمعظم الأزواج الذين يعانون من العقم الثانوي تحقيق الحمل في ظل الظروف المناسبة.

بافتراض أن كلاً من الذكر والأنثى * لا يزالان ضمن العمر الطبيعي للخصوبة ، فهناك عدة أسباب للعقم الثانوي يجب استبعادها أولاً. كما هو الحال مع أي عملية جراحية للعقم ، يمكن للتاريخ الطبي الدقيق أن يقدم رؤى قيمة حول الأسباب المحتملة وهو المفتاح لوضع خطة العلاج الصحيحة. لقد وجدنا ذلك في تجربتنا السريرية الخاصة دوالي الخصية (تضخم الأوردة داخل كيس الصفن لدى الرجل) سبب شائع جدًا للعقم الثانوي. بشكل عام ، دوالي الخصية هي السبب الأكثر شيوعًا لعقم الذكور الثانوي.

يعد فشل المبايض المبكر وحالات الرحم المعادية السببين الرئيسيين للعقم الثانوي عند النساء. قد تكون حالات الرحم المعادية ناجمة عن جراحة سابقة أو ورم ليفي أو ورم أو التهاب بطانة الرحم في مرحلة متقدمة أو حالات أخرى يمكن أن تتداخل مع الحمل. وبالتالي ، من المرجح أن تخضع النساء المصابات بالعقم الثانوي لاختبارات الهرمونات نفسها المستخدمة لتقييم النساء المصابات بالعقم الأولي بالإضافة إلى دراسات إضافية ، مثل: تصوير الرحم بالصبغة (صورة بالأشعة السينية للرحم وقناتي فالوب) لتقييم حالة الرحم.

قد يكون العقم الأولي بسبب سبب واحد أو أسباب متعددة. الخطوة الأولى في تقييم الزوجين المصابين بالعقم الأولي هي اختبار الهرمونات ، وفحص الحوض بالموجات فوق الصوتية للمرأة ، وتحليل الحيوانات المنوية للرجل. في هذه المرحلة ، يجب على الأزواج أن يقرروا ما إذا كانوا سيخضعون لتقييم أكثر شمولاً للعقم أو يبدؤون العلاج بعد التقييم الأولي. على الرغم من أن معظم المتخصصين في الخصوبة يفضلون إجراء التشخيص قبل بدء العلاج ، يختار العديد من المرضى بدء العلاج بعد التقييم الأولي. هذا في المقام الأول لأن علاج العقم الشامل يمكن أن يكلف ثلاثة إلى أربعة أضعاف تكلفة علاج أطفال الأنابيب. وبالتالي ، فإن العديد من الأزواج سيختارون فقط إجراء فحص شامل بعد فشل علاج واحد على الأقل من أطفال الأنابيب.

تعد دورة التلقيح الاصطناعي استثمارًا عاطفيًا وماليًا للمرضى ، ويمكن أن يكون الفشل مخيبا للآمال وحتى مؤلمًا. ومع ذلك ، يمكن أن توفر نتيجة التلقيح الاصطناعي السلبية رؤى مفيدة لأخصائي الخصوبة بما في ذلك المعلومات المتعلقة باستجابة مبيض المرأة لتحريض الإباضة ، ونوعية البويضات التي تم الحصول عليها بعد تحريض الإباضة ، وإمكانية إخصاب البويضات ، وقدرة الإخصاب في البويضات. ونوعية الأجنة الناتجة. بوجود هذه المعلومات في متناول اليد ، يمكن لأخصائي الخصوبة اتخاذ قرار أكثر استنارة حول أفضل السبل للمضي قدمًا. تعتبر علاجات الخصوبة خاصة بالمريض للغاية ، ويمكن استخدام المعلومات التي يتم الحصول عليها من دورة التلقيح الاصطناعي الفاشلة لتطوير خطة علاج أكثر تخصيصًا.

* نشير إلى الأزواج على أنهم ذكر وأنثى في المعنى الإنجابي ، وليس على أنه تمييز. نرحب بكل من الأزواج من جنسين مختلفين ومن نفس الجنس في وحدة التلقيح الاصطناعي الخاصة بنا.

† على الرغم من أن استخدام العمر كمؤشر للخصوبة ليس مثاليًا ، إلا أنه قد يكون بمثابة مؤشر مناسب على عدم القدرة على الإنجاب. على سبيل المثال ، فإن المرأة التي لديها طفل في سن الثلاثين ولكن لا يمكنها إنجاب طفل في سن الخمسين لن يتم تشخيصها بالعقم الثانوي.

ستجد على موقعنا روابط للصفحات التي ستوجهك إلى العوامل المسببة العقم عند النساء، العوامل المسببة عقم الذكور، كيف تقييم العقم وكذلك كيفية التعرف على طريقة العلاج الصحيحة لحالتك الفريدة. لأية استفسارات قد تكون لديكم حول أي من هذه الموضوعات ، يرجى استخدام موقعنا نموذج الاتصال للتواصل معنا بأسئلتك وسنكون سعداء بالإجابة عليها.

arArabic

+90-548-882-8000
+90-548-876-8000

Infertility

Diagnosis and Management

Infertility is defined as the inability to conceive or carry a pregnancy to term. About 1 in 10 women in the Western population have difficulty either becoming pregnant or carrying a pregnancy to term. According to a recent survey, approximately 11% of women of childbearing age in the United States are unable to conceive.

Although infertility is often considered a female problem, male infertility is also quite common. Male infertility is either the sole cause or a contributing factor in approximately 40% of infertile couples. Thus, the male and female partner both need to be thoroughly evaluated before a diagnosis can be made.

Most clinicians define infertility as the inability to become pregnant after 1 year of engaging in regular intercourse without using contraceptives. This time frame may be reasonable for a couple in their 20s. However, a couple in their mid to late 30s may not have the luxury of waiting a year. For example, a woman may try for years to become pregnant naturally, only to discover that her ovarian reserve has been depleted by the time she seeks help. Thus, a woman who delays fertility treatment may no longer be able to use her own eggs. Although IVF treatments can be performed using donor eggs or donor embryos, consulting a fertility specialist in a timely manner can help avoid the additional financial burden and wait times of donor matching.

Couples who have never been able to conceive are considered to have primary infertility. Conversely, secondary infertility describes couples who previously conceived with- out any assistance but are no longer able to conceive naturally. There are a number of causes of secondary infertility, including parental age, premature menopause, a history of radiation and/or chemotherapy, surgical complications, and a poor diet. Fortunately, most couples with secondary infertility can usually achieve pregnancy under the right conditions.

Assuming that both the male and the female partner* are still within the normal age of fertility†, there are several causes of secondary infertility that must first be ruled out. As with any infertility workup, a careful medical history can offer valuable insights into possible causes and is key to establishing the right treatment plan. We have found in our own clinical experience that varicocele (enlarged veins within the man’s scrotum) is a very common cause of secondary infertility. Overall, varicocele is the most common cause of secondary male infertility.

Premature ovarian failure and hostile uterine conditions are the two main causes of secondary infertility in women. Hostile uterine conditions may be due to previous surgery, a fibroid or polyp, advanced stage endometriosis, or other conditions that can interfere with pregnancy. Thus, women suffering from secondary infertility will likely undergo the same hormone tests used to evaluate women with primary infertility plus additional studies, such as a hysterosalpingogram (an x-ray image of the uterus and fallopian tubes), to assess the uterine conditions.

Primary infertility may be due to a single cause or multiple causes. The first step in evaluating a couple with primary infertility is hormone testing, a pelvic ultrasound for the woman, and sperm analysis for the man. At this point, couples must decide whether to undergo a more thorough infertility evaluation or begin treatment after the initial assessment. Although most fertility specialists prefer to make a diagnosis before beginning treatment, many patients opt to begin treatment after the initial evaluation. This is primarily because a thorough infertility workup can cost three to four times as much as an IVF treatment. Thus, many couples will only opt for a thorough workup after at least one IVF treatment has failed.

An IVF cycle is both an emotional and financial investment for patients, and failure can be disappointing and even traumatic. However, a negative IVF outcome can provide useful insights for the fertility specialist including informa- tion regarding the woman’s ovarian response to ovulation induction, the quality of oocytes obtained after ovulation induction, the fertilization potential of the oocytes, the fertil- ization capacity of the sperm, and the quality of the resulting embryos. With this information in hand, a fertility special- ist can make a more informed decision about how best to proceed. Fertility treatments are very patient-specific, and information obtained from a failed IVF cycle can be used to develop a more customized treatment plan.

*We refer to couples as male and female in the reproductive sense, not to be discriminatory. We welcome both heterosexual and same-sex couples at our IVF unit.

† Although using age as an indicator of fertility is not ideal, it may serve as an appropriate indicator of the inability to conceive. For example, a woman who had a child at the age of 30 but cannot have a child at the age of 50 would not be diagnosed with secondary infertility.

On our website, you will find links to the pages that will direct you to factors causing female infertility, factors causing male infertility, how infertility assessment can be made as well as how to identify the right treatment method for your unique condition. For any queries you may have about any of these subjects, please use our contact form to contact us with your questions and we will be happy to answer.