+90-548-875-8000
السبت 8 يونيو 2024

اختيار الجنس Pgd في قبرص

نظرة عامة وتكلفة اختيار الجنس

الاسبانية | فرانسيه


اختيار الجنس (الجنس) في قبرص: اختيار جنس طفلك لتحقيق التوازن العائلي 

يشير اختيار الجنس أو اختيار الجنس إلى اختيار جنس الجنين قبل الحمل. في مركز شمال قبرص لأطفال الأنابيب ، يتم تقديم هذا الخيار لمجموعتين من المرضى:

1- الأزواج الذين يرغبون في اختيار جنس طفلهم بسبب الاستعداد الوراثي المعروف لحالة مرتبطة بالجنس (X-linked). الأمراض المرتبطة بالكروموسوم X هي اضطرابات جينية منفردة تشير إلى وجود طفرات جينية أو عيوب جينية في الكروموسوم X. وبما أن الذكور يكتسبون نسخة واحدة فقط من كروموسوم X من الأم، فإن أليل واحد فقط متحور يكفي لإحداث مرض مرتبط بالجنس لدى الذكور. وهذا يشير إلى أن الذكور أكثر عرضة لمعظم الأمراض المرتبطة بالكروموسوم X مقارنة بالإناث.

2- الأزواج الذين لديهم أطفال بالفعل ويرغبون في تحقيق التوازن في أسرهم من خلال إنجاب طفل آخر من الجنس الآخر. عادة لا تعاني هذه المجموعة من المرضى من مشاكل في الخصوبة ويمكنهم إنجاب أطفال أصحاء عبر طرق الحمل الطبيعية. ومع ذلك، فإن الحمل الطبيعي قد لا ينتج دائمًا ذرية "متوازنة"، وبالتالي، تدخل تقنيات الإنجاب المساعدة حيز التنفيذ.

بغض النظر عن أسبابك ، يمكن تقديم اختيار الجنس بشكل قانوني في مركز شمال قبرص لأطفال الأنابيب لكلا مجموعتي المرضى.

عندما يتعلق الأمر باختيار الجنس ، هناك بعض العوامل المهمة التي تساعدنا في تحديد طريقة العلاج الأكثر ملاءمة لاحتياجاتك الفريدة. تشمل هذه العوامل ما يلي:

- عمر المريضة: عمر المريضة مهم جدا لعدة أسباب. بادئ ذي بدء ، مع تقدم العمر ، تميل احتياطيات المبيض إلى التناقص بمعدل متزايد. ثانيًا ، مع تقدم العمر ، تصبح المشاكل الوراثية أكثر شيوعًا ، مما يزيد من احتمالية حدوث عيوب وراثية عند الأطفال.

-نتائج تحليل السائل المنوي للمريض الذكر: في شمال قبرص IVF ، لدينا عدد من بدائل اختيار الجنس ، أحد هذه البدائل يُعرف باسم MicroSort ، وهي تقنية فرز الحيوانات المنوية ، والتي يمكنها فرز العينة بنجاح إلى خلايا تحمل X و Y. تتطلب هذه التقنية أن تتوافق معايير الحيوانات المنوية للمريض الذكر مع الحد الأدنى من المتطلبات ، لذلك من المهم معرفة معلمات الحيوانات المنوية قبل تحديد الطرق التي سيتم استخدامها في العلاج. لذلك ، على الرغم من أن الشريك الذكر قد يكون قد أنجب طفلاً من قبل ، إلا أنه لا يزال من الجيد إجراء تحليل السائل المنوي ، خاصةً إذا كان برنامج العلاج سيشمل MicroSort ، وهي تقنية فرز الحيوانات المنوية.

- مستويات الهرمونات لدى المريضة: تشير مستويات الهرمونات إلى مستوى احتياطي المبيض وكذلك نوعية البويضات المتبقية في الاحتياطي. تساعدنا هذه المعلومات في إجراء تقييم أكثر فعالية لاحتياجاتك وتحديد نظام الدواء المناسب بعناية. لذلك، إذا كنا نعرف بالضبط نوع الاحتياطي الذي ننظر إليه، فيمكننا تحسين نتائج دورة العلاج عن طريق حساب جرعة الدواء التي سيتم إعطاؤها بعناية. هذه خطوة ضرورية حتى لو كنتِ قد حملتِ بشكل طبيعي من قبل. الغرض من الاختبارات ليس فقط تقييم ما إذا كنتِ خصبة أم لا، بل إخبارنا بدقة عن جرعة الدواء التي ستعطينا النتائج المرجوة.

بناءً على هذه المعلومات ، سنتمكن من تحديد طريقة العلاج المناسبة لك. لمزيد من المعلومات حول الاختبارات والتفسير ، يرجى الذهاب إلى "اختبار العقم". غالبًا ما يسأل بعض المرضى عما إذا كانوا لا يزالون بحاجة إلى إجراء هذه الاختبارات حتى لو كانوا في حالة خصوبة وحملوا من قبل. الجواب نعم! الغرض من هذه الاختبارات هو تقييم مستوى الخصوبة لديك حتى نتمكن من تصميم نظام الدواء الأنسب للحصول على أفضل النتائج.

يبدأ اختيار الجنس في عيادة شمال قبرص لأطفال الأنابيب بالاختبارات والفحص. ستجد المزيد من المعلومات حول الاختبارات المطلوبة أثناء التمرير لأسفل إلى أسفل هذه الصفحة. بمجرد الانتهاء من الاختبار ، سنكون قادرين على تقديم توصياتنا لطريقة اختيار الجنس والتي من المرجح أن تزيد من فرص نجاحك. فيما يلي الطرق المستخدمة في اختيار جنس طفلك:

MicroSort لفرز الحيوانات المنوية: مركز شمال قبرص لأطفال الأنابيب هو العيادة الرسمية الوحيدة التي تقدم تقنية MicroSort لاختيار جنس الجنين في أوروبا والشرق الأوسط وآسيا وأفريقيا. MicroSort هي طريقة لفرز الحيوانات المنوية تمكننا من فرز عينة الحيوانات المنوية كروموسوميًا إلى خلايا تحمل X (أنثى) وY (ذكر). وبهذه الطريقة، من خلال فرز عينة من الحيوانات المنوية إلى دفعتين، نعرف أي مجموعة من الحيوانات المنوية لديها القدرة على إنتاج طفل ذكر وأي منها يمكن أن تنتج طفلاً أنثى. ويتم استخدام الحيوانات المنوية التي تم فرزها بدورها لتخصيب بويضات المريضة بحيث يمكن التخطيط للحمل بالجنس المرغوب.

تتمتع تقنية MicroSort أيضًا بمتطلبات معينة. يجب أن تحتوي عينة السائل المنوي للشريك الذكر على الحد الأدنى من عدد الحيوانات المنوية المتحركة في القذف حتى يمكن استخدام معدات الفرز. بالنسبة لعينات الحيوانات المنوية التي لا تستوفي هذه المعايير، فإن آلية الفرز لا تعمل بشكل صحيح ولا يمكننا الحصول على النتائج المرجوة. إذا تم العثور على عينة كافية من الحيوانات المنوية لإجراء MicroSort، وإذا كان المرضى على استعداد لقبول دقة أقل في اختيار الجنس، فيمكن استخدام تقنية MicroSort جنبًا إلى جنب مع إجراء IUI غير الجراحي وكذلك مع علاجات التلقيح الصناعي.

الفحص الجيني قبل الزرع (PGS): لا تسمح قوانين التلقيح الصناعي لدينا باستخدام اختبار PGS كوسيلة لاختيار الجنس ما لم يكن هناك مرض وراثي مرتبط بالكروموسوم X منتشر في العائلة، وفي هذه الحالة، يصبح اختبار PGS هو الخيار الوحيد لإنجاب طفل سليم. ولذلك، فإن استخدام PGS لتحقيق التوازن الأسري ليس خيارًا. ويرجع ذلك إلى أسباب أخلاقية حيث أن اختبار PGS لا يمكنه تحديد جنس الأجنة إلا بعد تكوينها. لذلك، في حالة اختيار جنس واحد على الآخر، سيتم تدمير ما يقرب من نصف الأجنة لأنها ليست من الجنس "الصحيح". ومن أجل تجنب ذلك، فإننا لا نستخدم فحص PGS وحده كوسيلة لاختيار الجنس.

برامج اختيار الجنس في مركز شمال قبرص لأطفال الأنابيب

1) MicroSort IUI لاختيار الجنس (تكلفتها 3000 يورو)
تعد طريقة العلاج هذه مناسبة في الغالب للأزواج الذين يتمتعون بالخصوبة في العشرينات من العمر ، حيث لا يزال احتياطي المبيض لدى المريضة سليمًا جدًا ويمكن الحصول على استجابة جيدة من خلال دورة تحفيز خفيفة جدًا. يعد عدد الحيوانات المنوية ، والتركيز ، والحركة ، والتشكل لدى الشريك الذكر مهمًا جدًا أيضًا عند تحديد ما إذا كانت الحيوانات المنوية ستكون مرشحًا مثاليًا لإجراء MicroSort أم لا. يتطلب إجراء MicroSort أن يكون لدى الشريك الذكر عينة من السائل المنوي تتوافق مع الحد الأدنى من متطلبات التركيز والحركة والتشكل.

يعمل MicroSort IUI إلى حد كبير مثل IUI العادي ، حيث تتلقى المريضة دواء تحفيزًا خفيفًا جدًا لإنتاج بويضات متعددة من أجل زيادة فرص الحمل في وقت التلقيح. يتم حقن الحيوانات المنوية MicroSorted داخل الرحم لتحقيق الحمل.

MicroSort لاختيار الجنس مع علاج التلقيح داخل الرحم (IUI) لديه دقة عالية جدًا في اختيار الجنس. فيما يتعلق بمعدلات النجاح ، تتمتع MicroSort IUI بمعدلات نجاح مماثلة لمعدلات نجاح علاج IUI ، والتي تبلغ حوالي 20-25% للنساء الأصغر من 35 عامًا ، وحوالي 10-12% للنساء الأكبر من 35 عامًا. يجب أن يؤخذ في الاعتبار أن MicroSort IUI قد تحتاج إلى عدة محاولات قبل أن يتحقق الحمل. إذا كانت هناك رغبة في الحصول على فرصة أكبر للنجاح مع علاجات اختيار الجنس ، فيجب النظر في علاج التلقيح الاصطناعي بدلاً من التلقيح الاصطناعي غير الجراحي.

2) MicroSort IVF لاختيار جنس المولود (تكلفتها 4200 يورو)
يعتبر خيار العلاج هذا أشبه بالعلاج المنتظم لأطفال الأنابيب والحقن المجهري. يتم فرز الحيوانات المنوية للشريك الذكر في خلايا تحمل X و Y لاختيار الجنس ، تمامًا كما هو الحال في خيار IUI. ومع ذلك ، على عكس حقن الحيوانات المنوية المصنفة عبر الرحم ، يتم إخراج بويضات الشريكة وحقن الحيوانات المنوية مباشرة في نواة البويضة للتخصيب. بعبارة أخرى ، لا تدع عملية التلقيح الصناعي + الحقن المجهري الطبيعة تأخذ مجراها ، بل تقوم بالمهمة في بيئة المختبر.

يتطلب علاج أطفال الأنابيب أن تستخدم الشريكة دواء تحفيزيًا من أجل إنتاج عدد وجودة أعلى من البويضات في دورة شهرية معينة. من خلال بروتوكول الدواء هذا يمكننا الحصول على عدد أكبر من البيض لزيادة فرصك في الحمل.

معدلات الحمل باستخدام MicroSort IVF أعلى بكثير من IUI لأن إجراءات التلقيح الاصطناعي تسمح بتخصيب العديد من البويضات ونقلها مرة أخرى إلى الرحم.

إخلاء مسؤولية هام ***

نظرًا لاعتبارات أخلاقية ، فإننا نستخدم تقنيات MICROSORT فقط كطريقة لاختيار الجنس. ومع ذلك ، يجب أن يؤخذ في الاعتبار أنه على الرغم من عدم استخدام PGS لاختيار الجنس في حد ذاته ، إلا أنه لا يزال مكونًا مهمًا للغاية في برنامج العلاج لدينا لأنه يساعدنا في اختيار الأجنة السليمة وراثياً للتخطيط للحمل.

من المعروف أن خطر اختلال الصيغة الصبغية (الشذوذ) يزداد مع تقدم العمر. مع تقدم المرأة في العمر ، كذلك بيضها. وهذا ما يسمى شيخوخة البويضات. تجلب شيخوخة البويضات معها عددًا من المشاكل:

- زيادة معدل الخلل الوظيفي في الميتوكوندريا
- زيادة معدل اختلال الصبغيات الصبغية
- زيادة معدل مشاكل الوراثة اللاجينية.

مع تقدم عمر البويضة ، تصبح المشاكل الوراثية أكثر وضوحًا. يعرض الرسم أدناه معدل اختلال الصبغيات الصبغية على الأجنة حسب عمر الأم:

حدوث اختلال الصبغيات الصبغية مع تقدم العمر

صورة

يشير الرقم إلى أنه عندما تكون المرأة في سن الثلاثين تقريبًا ، فإن حوالي 251 طنًا من أجنةها سيكون لها خلل وراثي. هذا يعني أنه بعد علاج أطفال الأنابيب ، سيكون حوالي ربع أجنةها غير طبيعي وراثيًا.

في سن 35 عامًا تقريبًا ، يرتفع هذا الرقم إلى حوالي 321 طنًا ثلاثيًا ، مما يعني أن واحدًا من كل ثلاثة أجنة تقريبًا سيكون لديه خلل وراثي.

في سن 42 ، سيكون ما يقرب من 60% من الأجنة أثناء دورة التلقيح الاصطناعي غير طبيعية.

في حالات الحمل الطبيعي ، لا تولد هذه الأجنة الحمل ، أو لا تنجو ، وينتهي بها الأمر في إجهاض مبكر جدًا.

أثناء علاجات أطفال الأنابيب ، من المهم جدًا أثناء اختيار جنس المولود ، أن نتأكد أيضًا من أن الأجنة التي ننقلها إلى الرحم تتمتع بصحة وراثية. لتحقيق هذه الغاية ، بعد اختيار جنس طفلك باستخدام MicroSort ، من المهم فحص أجنةك باستخدام PGS حتى نتمكن من اختيار الأجنة السليمة وراثيًا للحمل.

3) MicroSort IVF مع الفحص الجيني قبل الزرع (7000 يورو)
يعد الجمع بين MicroSort و PGD أفضل طريقة لاختيار جنس المولود ، خاصة للمرضى الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 30 عامًا ، مع احتياطي محدود من المبيض. يتم تقديم خيار العلاج هذا فقط في عيادتنا الواقعة في شمال قبرص. تتيح لك هذه الطريقة تحديد جنس طفلك باستخدام طريقة MicroSort ، دون إضاعة أجنةك.

بمجرد تكوين أجنةك باستخدام طريقة اختيار جنس MicroSort ، يتم تحضينها باستخدام ظروف النمو المثلى وبمجرد وصولها إلى الحجم المثالي ، يتم أخذ خزعة منها للفحص الجيني قبل الزرع. على الرغم من أننا لا نستخدم PGS كطريقة لاختيار الجنس من تلقاء نفسها ، فهي تقنية وراثية تسمح لنا بفحص كروموسومات أجنةك بحثًا عن الاضطرابات الوراثية الرئيسية حتى نتمكن من التأكد من خلو أجنةك من الاضطرابات الوراثية وكذلك أن تكون من الجنس المرغوب.

تكلفة اختيار الجنس في مركز شمال قبرص لأطفال الأنابيب

تعتمد تكلفة علاج اختيار الجنس على خيار العلاج الذي يتم اختياره. يتم تحديد تكلفة العلاجات الطبية بجانب كل عنوان علاج. ومع ذلك ، يجب أن تضع في اعتبارك أن بعض التكاليف غير مضمنة في عروض الأسعار المقدمة. هؤلاء هم:

- تكلفة الدواء ، والتي تعتمد على نوع العلاج وجرعة الدواء المراد تناوله. من الصعب للغاية التنبؤ بهذا قبل معرفة نوع علاج اختيار الجنس الذي ترغب في اختياره ومستويات الهرمون لديك ، والتي ستحدد الجرعة التي سنصفها.

-تكلفة السفر بالطائرة والإقامة طوال مدة العلاج. من المتوقع أن تبقى في قبرص لمدة 8/9 أيام تقريبًا. لمزيد من المعلومات حول خيارات الإقامة وأسعارها ، يرجى زيارة "إقامة" صفحة.

- تكلفة فحص الأمراض المعدية قبل التعامل مع الأمشاج الخاصة بك ، والتي يتم إجراؤها من قبل مختبراتنا الخاصة لاحتياطات السلامة عالية المستوى. تكلفة فحص الأمراض المعدية لكلا الشريكين 200 يورو.

كيف تبدأ؟

نقطة البداية في أي علاج هي التقييم الفعال للزوجين المراد علاجهما. هذا مهم جدًا عند اتخاذ قرار بشأن نوع العلاج الذي يجب اتباعه وجرعة نظام الدواء الذي يجب إدارته من أجل تحسين نتائج العلاج.

بالنسبة إلى شريكةسنحتاج إلى القيام بما يلي في اليوم الثاني أو الثالث من فترة الحيض:
- اختبارات هرمون FSH و LH و Estradiol و Prolactin و TSH و AMH
- فحص الموجات فوق الصوتية لخط الأساس لتتبع البصيلات ومراقبة الرحم

بالنسبة إلى شريك ذكر، سنحتاج إلى تحليل السائل المنوي باستخدام طريقة كروجر لتقييم حجم الحيوانات المنوية وعددها وحركتها وتشكلها ودرجة الحموضة وعدد الخلايا المستديرة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، سيحتاج كلا الشريكين إلى الخضوع لفحص الأمراض المعدية قبل معالجة عينات البويضات والحيوانات المنوية في مختبرات شمال قبرص لأطفال الأنابيب. يجب إجراء هذه الاختبارات في مختبراتنا لأغراض السلامة حيث أن تلوث المختبر يمثل مشكلة خطيرة للغاية. تكلفة فحص الأمراض المعدية لكلا الشريكين 200 يورو.

اعتمادًا على موقعك ، قد نتمكن من التوصية بطبيب محلي للاختبار الأولي ومتابعة الفحص قبل وصولك إلى قبرص. بمجرد الانتهاء من اختباراتك ، سنكون قادرين على إجراء تقييم لمستوى الخصوبة لديك واتخاذ قرار بشأن مسار العلاج الإضافي. في هذه المرحلة ، سنكون قادرين على تصميم بروتوكول العلاج الخاص بك وتزويدك بوصفة طبية حتى تتمكن من الحصول على أدويتك. سيتم أيضًا توفير تقويم العلاج الخاص بك ، والذي سيكون ملخصًا لاستخدام الأدوية والأشياء التي يجب القيام بها على أساس يومي أثناء التحضير للعلاج.

بهذه الطريقة ، يمكنك تنفيذ عملك التمهيدي محليًا والمجيء إلى قبرص لمدة 8/9 أيام لإتمام العلاج. ومع ذلك ، إذا كنت ترغب في الحصول على علاجك بالكامل هنا من البداية إلى النهاية مع جميع الاختبارات والفحوصات الأولية ، فسيكون من الضروري القدوم إلى هنا في اليوم الأول من فترة الحيض والبقاء في قبرص لمدة 20 يومًا.

معدلات النجاح مع اختيار الجنس في قبرص

يعتمد النجاح في أي علاج للخصوبة على عدد من العوامل. ومن بين هذه العوامل أعمار المرضى، وظيفة المبيض وجودة البويضات للمريضة، وظروف الرحم للمريضة وجودة الحيوانات المنوية للمريض الذكر. كل هذه العوامل مهمة عند تقييم النجاح. كلما كان العمر أصغر، وكلما زاد نشاط المبيض (احتياطي المبيض)، زادت فرصة نجاح علاجات الخصوبة. بمجرد خضوع مرضانا للاختبارات والفحوصات الموضحة أعلاه، سيقوم فريق الخبراء لدينا بإجراء تقييم لمستويات الخصوبة وسيقدم لك فرصة مخصصة لنجاح العلاج. في حين أن كل مريض فريد من نوعه فيما يتعلق بهذه المعايير، فإن معدلات نجاح اختيار الجنس على أساس العمر مذكورة في ""معدلات النجاح" صفحة.

أيضًا ، ستجد عددًا من الأسئلة والأجوبة حول برنامج اختيار الجنس في التعليمات قسم.

روابط إضافية:

اختيار الجنس – مركز قبرص للتلقيح الاصطناعي

 


العودة إلى "العلاجات"لمزيد من المعلومات حول خيارات العلاج الأخرى لدينا.

arArabic

Gender Selection Pgd In Cyprus

Overview & Cost of Gender Selection

Español | Francais


Gender (sex) Selection in Cyprus: Selecting the Sex of your Baby for Family Balancing 

Gender selection, or sex selection refers to selecting the sex of your unborn baby prior to pregnancy. At North Cyprus IVF Centre, this option is offered to two groups of patients:

1-  Couples who would like to select the sex of their child due to a known genetic predisposition to a sex-linked (X-linked) condition. X-linked diseases are single gene disorders that point to the presence of gene mutations or gene defects on the X chromosome. Since males only acquire one copy of the X chromosome from the mother, only one mutated allele is sufficient to cause a sex-linked disease on males. This suggests that males are more prone to the majority of X-linked diseases compared to females.

2-  Couples who already have children and would like to balance their family by having another child of the opposite sex. This group of patients usually have no fertility issues and are able to have healthy children via natural conception methods. However, natural conception may not always produce “balanced” offspring, therefore, assisted reproductive technologies come into play.

Regardless of your reasoning, gender selection can be legally offered at North Cyprus IVF Centre to both groups of patients.

When it comes to gender selection, there are a few important factors that help us identify which treatment method will be more suitable for your unique needs. These factors include the following:

-Age of the female patient: Female patient’s age is very important due to a number of reasons. First of all, as age gets older, the ovarian reserves tend to diminish at an increasing rate. Secondly, with increased age, genetic problems become more common, which increases the likelihood of genetic defects in children.

-Semen analysis results for the male patient: At North Cyprus IVF, we have a number of gender selection alternatives, and one of these is known as MicroSort, a sperm sorting technology, which can successfully sort the specimen into X and Y bearing cells. This technology requires that the male patient’s sperm parameters comply with minimum requirements, therefore, it is important to know about the sperm parameters prior to identifying the methods that will be employed in treatment. Therefore, even though the male partner may have fathered a child before, it will still be a good idea to have a semen analysis done, especially, if treatment program will include MicroSort, the sperm sorting technique.

-Hormone levels for the female patient: Hormone levels indicate the level of ovarian reserves as well as the quality of oocytes remaining in the reserves. This information helps us make a more effective assessment of your needs and carefully identify the right medication regimen. Therefore, if we know exactly what type of a reserve we are looking at, we can optimize the outcome of a treatment cycle by carefully calculating the dose of medication to be administered. This is a necessary step even if you have conceived naturally before. The purpose of the tests is not only to assess whether you are fertile or not, but rather, to tell us precisely what dose of medication will give us the desired results.

Based on this information, we will be able to identify the right mode of treatment, which is suitable for you. For more information on tests and interpretation, please go to “Infertility Testing”. Some patients often ask whether they still need to have these tests done even if they are fertile and have conceived before. The answer is yes! The purpose of these tests is to assess your level of fertility so that we can design the most suitable medication regimen in order to obtain most optimal results.

Gender Selection at North Cyprus IVF Clinic begins with the tests and screening. You will find more information about required tests as you scroll down to the bottom of this page. Once the testing has been done, we will be able to provide our recommendations for the gender selection method which is most likely to maximize your chances of success. Below are the methods employed in selection of the sex of your baby:

MicroSort for Sperm Sorting: North Cyprus IVF Centre is the only official clinic offering MicroSort sex selection technology in Europe, Middle East, Asia and Africa. MicroSort is a sperm sorting method which enables us to sort a sperm sample chromosomally into X (female) and Y (male) bearing cells. That way, by having a sperm sample sorted into two batches, we know which sperm batch has the capability of producing a male child and which one can produce a female child. The sorted sperm, in turn, is used to fertilize the female patient’s eggs so that pregnancy can be planned with a desired sex.

The MicroSort technology also has certain requirements. The semen sample of the male partner must contain a minimum number of motile sperm in the ejaculate so that the sort equipment can be used. For sperm samples that do not meet this criteria, the sort mechanism does not work properly and we cannot get desired results. If the sperm sample is found sufficient for MicroSort, and if the patients are willing to accept a lower accuracy of sex selection, the MicroSort technique can be used alongside with non-invasive IUI procedure as well as with IVF treatments.

Pre-implantation Genetic Screening (PGS): Our IVF laws do NOT allow for PGS to be used as a sex selection method unless there is a genetically inheritable X-linked disease that runs in the family, in which case, PGS becomes the only option of having a healthy child. Therefore, using PGS for family balancing is not an option. This is due to ethical reasons since PGS can only tell the gender of the embryos once the embryos have been created. Therefore, if choosing one sex over the other, almost half of the embryos would be destroyed for not being the “right” gender. In order to avoid this, we do not use PGS alone as a sex selection method.

Gender Selection Programs at North Cyprus IVF Center

1) MicroSort IUI for Gender Selection (costs 2,800 Euros)
This treatment method is mostly suitable for fertile couples in their 20s, where the female patient’s ovarian reserves are still very well intact and a well response can be obtained with a very mild stimulation cycle. The male partner’s sperm count, concentration, motility and morphology are also very important when determining whether the sperm will be an ideal candidate for the MicroSort procedure or not. MicroSort procedure requires that the male partner has a semen sample which complies with minimum concentration, motility and morphology requirements.

MicroSort IUI works very much like regular IUI, where the female patient receives a very mild stimulation medication to produce multiple oocytes in order to increase the chances of pregnancy at the time of insemination. The MicroSorted sperm is injected intra-uterine in order to achieve pregnancy.

MicroSort for gender selection with IUI treatment has a very high accuracy of gender selection. Regarding success rates, MicroSort IUI has similar success rates to IUI treatment success rates, which is about 20-25% for women younger than 35 years of age, and about 10-12% for women older than 35 years of age. It should be kept in mind that MicroSort IUI may need several attempts before pregnancy can be achieved. If a higher chance of success is desired with gender selection treatments, IVF treatment should be considered rather than the non-invasive IUI.

2) MicroSort IVF for Gender Selection (Costs 3,700 Euros)
This treatment option is more like regular IVF-ICSI treatment. The male partner’s sperm is sorted into X and Y bearing cells for gender selection, just like in the IUI option. However, as opposed to injecting the sorted sperm trans-uterine, female partner’s eggs are taken out and the sperm is injected directly into the nucleus of the egg for fertilization. In other words, IVF+ICSI does not let nature take its course, but rather, does the job in the lab environment.

IVF treatment requires that the female partner uses stimulation medication in order to produce a higher count and quality of eggs in a given menstrual cycle. It is through this medication protocol that we are able to obtain a higher count of eggs in order to increase your chances of pregnancy.

Pregnancy rates with MicroSort IVF are considerably higher than IUI since IVF procedures allow for multiple eggs to be fertilized and transferred back into the uterus.

IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER ***

Due to ethical considerations, we employ MICROSORT technologies ONLY as a gender selection method. However, it should be kept in mind that while PGS is not used for gender selection per se, it is still a very important component of our treatment program as it helps us choose the genetically healthy embryos for planning your pregnancy.

It is known that the risk of chromosomal aneuploidies (abnormalities) increases with age. As a woman ages, so do her eggs. This is called oocyte aging. Oocyte aging brings with it a number of problems:

– Increased rate of mitochondrial dysfunction
– Increased rate of chromosonal aneuploidy
– Increased rate of epigenetic problems.

As the oocyte ages, genetic problems are more pronounced. The graphic below displays the rate of chromosomal aneuploidy on embryos by maternal age:

Incidence of Chromosomal Aneuploidy with Age

Picture

The figure indicates that when a woman is around the age of 30, about 25% of her embryos will have a genetic abnormality. This means that after an IVF treatment, about one-fourth of her embryos will be genetically abnormal.

At about 35 years of age, this number goes up to about 32%, meaning, approximately one in three embryos will have a genetic abnormality.

At the age of 42, approximately 60% of embryos during an IVF cycle will be abnormal.

In natural pregnancies, these embryos either do not generate a pregnancy, or they do not survive so they end up in a very early miscarriage.

During IVF treatments, it is very important that while selecting the sex of the baby, we also make sure that the embryos that we transfer into the uterus are genetically healthy. For this end, after selecting the sex of your baby with MicroSort, it is important to screen your embryos with PGS so that we can select the genetically healthy embryos for pregnancy.


3) MicroSort IVF with Pre-Implantation Genetic Screening (6,200 Euros)
Combining MicroSort and PGD is the best gender selection method there is, espectially for patients older than 30 years of age, with limited ovarian reserves. This treatment option is only offered at our clinic in Northern Cyprus. This method allows you to select the sex of your child with the MicroSort method, without wasting your embryos.

Once your embryos have been created using MicroSort sex selection method, they are incubated using optimal growth conditions and once they reach the ideal size, they are biopsied for Pre-Implantation Genetic Screening. While we don’t use PGS as a gender selection method on its own, it is a genetic technology that allows us screen the chromosomes of your embryos for major genetic disorders so that we can make sure your embryos are free of genetic disorders as well as being of desired sex.

Cost of Gender Selection at North Cyprus IVF Centre

The cost of gender selection treatment depends on which treatment option is chosen. The cost of the medical treatments are specified next to each treatment heading. However, you should keep in mind that certain costs are not included in the provided quotes. These are:

-Cost of medication, which depends on the type of treatment and the dose of medication to be administered. It is very difficult to predict this before knowing the type of gender selection treatment you would like to opt for and your hormone levels, which will determine the dose that we will prescribe.

-Cost of your airfare and accommodation for the duration of your treatment. You will be expected to stay in Cyprus for about 8/9 days. For more information about the accommodation options and their pricing, please visit our “Accommodation” page.

-Cost of infectious disease screening prior to handling of your gametes, which is performed by our own laboratories for high level safety precautions. The cost of infectious disease screening for both partners is 200 Euros.

How to get started?

The starting point of any treatment is an effective assessment of the couple to be treated. This is very important when deciding on the type of treatment to be followed and the dose of medication regimen to be administered in order to optimize the outcome of your treatment.

For the female partner, we will need the following done on day 2 or 3 of menstrual period:
-FSH, LH, Estradiol, Prolactin, TSH and AMH hormone tests
-Baseline ultrasound scan for follicle tracking and uterine observation

For the male partner, we will need a semen analysis done with Kruger method assessing sperm volume, count, motility, morphology, pH and round cell count.

Additionally, both partners will need to undergo infectious disease screening before egg and sperm samples can be handled at North Cyprus IVF laboratories. These tests need to be administered at our own laboratories for safety purposes as laboratory contamination is a very serious issue. The cost of infectious disease screening for both partners costs 200 Euros.

Depending on your location, we may be able to recommend a local physician for the initial testing and follow up screening prior to your arrival in Cyprus. Once you have had your tests done, we will be able to make an assessment of your fertility level and decide on further course of treatment. At this point, we will be able to design your treatment protocol and provide you with a prescription so that you can obtain your medication. Your treatment calendar will also be provided, which will be a summary of medication use and things to do on a daily basis while you are preparing for your treatment.

This way, you can have your preliminary work carried out locally and come to Cyprus for a total of 8/9 days to finalize your treatment. However, if you would like to have your entire treatment here from start to finish with all your preliminary testing and screening, it will be necessary to come here on day 1 of your menstrual period and stay in Cyprus for a total of 20 days.

Success Rates with Gender Selection in Cyprus

Success with any fertility treatment will depend on a number of factors. Among these factors are the ages of the patients, ovarian function and oocyte quality of the female patient, uterine conditions of the female patient and the sperm quality of the male patient. All these factors are important when assessing success. The younger the age, and the higher the ovarian activity (ovarian reserves), the higher the chance of success with fertility treatments. Once our patients undergo the tests and screening outlined above, our team of experts will make an assessment of fertility levels and quote you with a customized chance of success with treatment. While each patient is unique with respect to these parameters, age-based gender selection success rates are quoted on our “Success Rates” page.

Also, you will find a number of questions and answers about our gender selection program in the FAQ section.

Share this information with others!


Return to our “Treatments” page for more information on our other treatment options.

Our Sites in Other Languages:

If your native language is other than English and is listed below, we recommend you to visit that site as well. Links will open on a new window.

Our Sites in Other Languages:

If your native language is other than English and is listed below, we recommend you to visit that site as well. Links will open on a new window.